WATCH:Patrick Mahomes and Rashee Rice Honored with Chiefs’ Team Awards

WATCH:Patrick Mahomes and Rashee Rice Honored with Chiefs' Team Awards

The Kansas City Chiefs announced their annual team awards on Thursday as quarterback Patrick Mahomes and wide receiver Rashee Rice were each honored for their respective efforts in 2023.



Chiefs' Patrick Mahomes named Derrick Thomas MVP, Rashee Rice named Mack  Lee Hill Rookie of the Year - A to Z Sports



Mahomes was the recipient of the “Derrick Thomas Award,” which is annually presented to the Chiefs’ most valuable player. This marks Mahomes’ third time earning the award, which is named for the Chiefs’ legendary, Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker. Mahomes threw for 4,183 yards and 27 touchdowns in 2023 before leading Kansas City on one of the greatest postseason runs in NFL history, culminating in a second-straight world championship.